Much A-Dough about Muffin

Image

When I was a little girl, my sister and I would make “cakes” at nursery school. Sadly these cakes where made of raw flour, water and salt, and my father and mother being the amazing parents they were, used to pretend they were the most appetising cake they’d ever seen, even eating it. So last night when I took these “invented” muffins to my parents house,  I explained that although they were acting as my guinea pigs, this wasn’t a “cake” kind of moment. Resounding success with both parents and Mr G ( my food-loving man).

Technical Bit – I apologise in advance for what I am about to say but I am nurse so my “social acceptable body talk line” is VERY low.  Wholewheat flour and wholemeal cereals are a good source of fibre; crucial to a healthy digestive system. Its important to *ahem* keep “that train moving” and these muffins are a tasty and quick alternative to a bowl of cereal. Remember if you are going to up your daily intake of fibre stay hydrated!

Sorry…right onto the good bit.

Pre- heat your oven to 180c/ Gas Mark 4. When pre-heating an oven its always best to do so 20 mins before you plan to cook/bake as it allows optimum temperature to be reached.

You will need:

200g Self Raising Flour (or wholemeal self raising)
Two small handfuls of Bran Flakes (crushed)
1 Teaspoon of Bircabonate of Soda.
100g Light Muscovado sugar
2 Beaten Egg whites
150ml of milk
200g fresh raspberries
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

This mixture makes APPROXIMATELY 12 muffins.

  • Mix the flour and bicarbonate of soda in a large bowl.Image
  • Now add the bran flakes and sugar and mix well with a wooden spoon.Image
  • Make a well in the middle and pour in your beaten eggs.
  • Add your milk and vanilla extract into the mixtureImage
  • Now add your raspberries, keeping a few back for topping and mix well.
  • Spoon into muffin cases – you want about a tablespoon of mix in each case, don’t be tempted to overfill.
  • Bake in the oven for 18-20 or until golden brown.

    Image

    Here I added decorative bran flakes to the top. Add one in the middle and then skewer a raspberry on top!

These muffins come out lovely and crunchy on the top and soft in the middle, with beautiful marbled raspberries throughout. They are beautiful (even if I do say so myself).

I don’t have the exact nutritional information for this treat as I made it myself but I will tell you they contain LESS THAN 0.8g saturated fat per muffin.

Image

Et Voilà! A healthy on the go muffin to keep you going till your next meal.

Enjoy people. Need help – Just ask.

Peace out,

Morven x

 Notice how we are only using the egg whites here… what am I going to do with those yolks? Watch out for my next post… hollandaise sauce!

3 thoughts on “Much A-Dough about Muffin

  1. Loving this! You’re a natural and annoyingly good at being a housewife! G will love the blog as no doubt it will up the availability of yumminess in the Pandoras Cookbook household!

Leave a Reply

