Orang – you – can!

Image

Hello my lovely kitchen loiterers. I have been quiet lately but this is because I have been studying my healthy butt off for exams next week – forgive me. Here is a lovely little recipe that I “invented” and again, force fed my family and friends until I was satisfied it was suitable for you all.
I also need to point something out;  who likes my new cake stand?  My lovely friend Megan bought it for me! Thanks Megaroni!

You will need:

75g melted butter
2 oranges – juiced and zested
1 beaten egg
100g peeled and grated carrots
300g plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
100g caster sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinamon

Pre-Heat the oven to 190C/fan 170C/gas 5.

  • Line a 12-hole muffin tin with squares of baking parchment, pushing them down to make little cases.

Top Tip : Cut out square of parchment and push it down – makes a rustic little case!

  • Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl with a pinch of salt.
  • Whisk together the wet ingredients with the carrots then mix into the dry ingredients, but don’t overmix – it’s much nicer with lumps!Image
  • Spoon into the muffin tin and bake for 20-25 minutes until risen.Image

Top Tip: Make sure you use unwaxed oranges for the zest!

They really are that simple and they are so tasty – and of course, Healthy! I made this recipe up from the fact I had four carrots needing transformed into something magical. It really is that simple – most of my “made up recipes” come from something that needs used up before it goes off if I am honest!
From my calculations these muffins are about 3g of saturated fat! Hello!

These fruity muffins are perfect with a cup of tea on winter days – breakfast, brunch, lunch or a snack!

2 thoughts on “Orang – you – can!

Leave a Reply

