Spicy Sweet Potato Chips (fries)

These are amazing. A Mr G favourite, they are fantastic with meat, a salad and even just for dipping if sliced thin enough. Sweet potatoes are so under used in the U.K.; we are much more likely to buy and use a typical blighty “spud”. Sweet potatoes are so versatile!

This recipe will feed however many people you want it too. I know that sounds vague but it’s true. What I mean is, the size of your sweet potatoes and what you want it be, will influence how many mouths you can feed with one potato. I would make one potato per person as an accompaniment with a meal. Conclude from that what you will.

I should point out that when I make these tasty tatties I wing it with the seasoning. In fact that is my philosophy with most of my cooking, although I do try and keep things measure when I write to you lovely folks.

You will need:

One Potato per person
One tablespoon of low fat oil
Pinch of Salt
Pinch of Pepper.
(One tablespoon Cajun spice – Optional).

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees celsius.

  • Peel and wash the sweet potatoes.

Top Tip: You can leave the skin if you want and actually it is a good source of fibre to do just that!

  • Cut into strip – remember the size and thickness of your chips will determine how long they take.
  • Pop them into an oven tray and add ONE tablespoon of low fat oil.
  • Add salt, pepper and a desired spice – we like to use cajun spice!

  • Mix around with your hands to make sure all the chips are coated.
  • Pop your oven tray into your preheated oven
  • Cook for approx 30-40mins until golden brown.

Now when you take them out don’t worry if they aren’t as solid as a regular chip – the matrix of the potato makes a whole different texture.

Now they aren’t ready to decorate your plate and entice your tastebuds!

For crisps (chips for my overseas friends) just cut the potato in thin strips – even try a vegetable peeler!

So there you have it! Give it a go and let me know what you think!

Any questions, just ask!

Ciao!

Leave a comment